Posted by: Chris Hoskins | September 30, 2008

Goodbye…….

Iona passed away just after 3:30pm today.

Linda and I had rushed down from Aberdeen as soon as we heard that her support machines were being turned off, but made it just a few minutes to late to see her one last time before she went. We did get to hold her and say goodbye this evening, without doubt the hardest thing i’ve ever had to do, or likely to have to do.

I feel so numb, I can’t believe she’s gone. I can’t believe this is how it ends. Why? Where the heck did God go? Why didn’t he stop this happening? I’ve never felt so much pain in such a short time before, never seen as sad a site as when I walked in and saw Jonnie and Susie cradling her body with tears streaming down their faces. I just want to take all this pain from them. Want to see them taking their wee girl home and being the amazing parents the are to her.

This sucks.

Responses

  1. i don’t know..
    and i can’t tell you where to find God in this..but He’s there….somewhere…
    i can’t imagine the hurt you’re feeling just now..just know you’re in my thoughts, my heart and my prayers.
    and yes it sucks. it sucks bigtime. in fact i’d use other words.
    miss and love you a ton x

  2. chris, I am so sorry for your loss, I wish there was something more I could do or say to ease the pain, thinking and praying for you and your family, Lynda x

  3. Hi Chris and Linda
    thanks for your visit today -we know its hard , hard at this time – and our thoughts are with Jonnie,Susie and their parents.
    I don’t really know what to say – I’m new to all this technology and old enough to know better than to post messages when my eyes are streaming with sadness.
    I feel that God is there – perhaps not as visible as we want – but hey – who says we call the shots. Difficult I know ohhh so difficult Our love to you both

  4. Hi Chris,

    You asked where God went and why didn’t he stop it happening. I think this is the unbearable aspect of the free will of living things. I believe God’s there and he’s grieving too.

    All our love,

    Scott and Jane.


Leave a Reply

Categories

