Posted by: Chris Hoskins | January 9, 2009

Gaza…….

So, unless you’ve been living in the wilderness or under a rock you’ll have heard what’s going on in Gaza.For that reason, I feel no need to go into details of what’s happened, except to register my outrage and shock!
How can you justify in any way the killing of so many civilians? “We want to stop rocket attacks into Israel” they claim, I may be a non military type, but it strikes me that any country serious about that claim, and not just using it as an excuse, would do so in a way not as likely to draw more anger from their ‘target’ country (I hate that phrase). The one thing I’m not surprised by, is that the US alone abstained from a UN resolution calling for ‘ “immediate, durable and fully respected ceasefire” leading to the “full withdrawal” of Israeli forces from Gaza. ‘
I’m so saddened and angered by this attack on Gaza, as if they didn’t suffer enough there! I had an unexpected argument with one of my friends yesterday, they wholeheartedly support this attack and the ‘security wall’ being built aound the West Bank…..
We all know that theres not much we can actually do to change whats happening out there, what we can do is raise awareness and let our governments know our displeasure…so do it!
So anyway, I’ve signed this and I know many of you already have, but if you haven’t, please sign this petition calling for a ceasefire in Gaza, please!

Responses

  1. Chris, keen to speak to you. I am a BBC journalist doing a show on how Gaza conflict is affecting friendships. I saw your tweet saying that you cannot believe one of your friends supports Israel. Email me on krupa.thakrar@bbc.co.uk with contact details if you are interested in sharing your friends. Show goes out in a few hours.


Leave a Reply

Categories

