Posted by: Chris Hoskins | May 25, 2009

General Assembly – Sunday doings!

Today, Sunday, is always a fairly quiet day for the youth reps. Some went to the service at St Giles, I didn’t, instead I had a lovely time meeting an old friend for a coffee. Afterwards, some of us met up and bought some lunch before heading into the meadows for a wee picnic and some frisbee fun! The meadows are a lovely place to sit and relax, and we had great fun splitting into teams and playing ultimate frisbee! although not all the youth reps were able to join us, it was a great time of fellowship!

The afternoon was taken up with a long prep session for tomorrow. As I right this, some of the other youth reps are heading home from the worship session in the assembly hall, and others of us are just chilling out while waiting for another prep session at 8pm!

The Sunday always feels weird. Although we are busy, its bizarre not being busy in the assembly hall!

The prep sessions were brutal, not as much in what we covered but rather how much we covered and how long it took! We were at it for quite a while, but then Mark Cameron, our worship leader for the week, led us in a great time of worship where we just sang and listened and prayed. One song in particular is stuck in my head from lsat night:

A thousand times I’ve failed
Still your mercy remains
And should I stumble again
Still I’m caught in your grace

Everlasting, Your light will shine when all else fades
Never ending, Your glory goes beyond all fame
my heart and my soul, Lord I give you control
Consume me from the inside out Lord
Let justice and praise become my embrace
To love You from the inside out

Your will above all else, my purpose remains
The art of losing myself in bringing you praise

Everlasting, Your light will shine when all else fades
Never ending, Your glory goes beyond all fame
In my heart, in my soul, Lord I give you control
Consume me from the inside out Lord
Let justice and praise become my embrace
To love You from the inside out

Everlasting, Your light will shine when all else fades
Never ending, Your glory goes beyond all fame
And the cry of my heart is to bring You praise
From the inside out Lord, my soul cries out

I love the sentiment behind this song. When I sing it it I do so to remind myself that I need to give everything to God. Yes I sometimes fail, but I have to push myself to put God, and not myself, first.

Responses

  1. Nice lyrics!


Leave a Reply

Categories

